We get a lot of questions about the problem: How to delete a Discord server? This article will cover detailed instructions on the steps to uninstall the Discord server on PC and mobile devices.
First of all, you need to prepare yourself that you will not recover the deleted Discord server. Think hard and go to the next section if you are determined to do so.
How To Delete A Discord Server On A Mobile App?
For deleting a Discord server on a mobile app, follow the below instructions. The procedure is similar on iOS / Android phones.
You could see a short questionnaire asking you if you have decided to delete a Discord server – select an option.
When you enable two-factor authentication, you must confirm your choice by displaying your 6-digit authentication code on the tap “Delete server” on the screen to confirm that you want to delete a Discord server. All right – your Discord account is now officially deleted!
For owners of the mobile app, deleting personal Discord servers and exiting others is also available.
You can perform these tasks in much the same way as shown above but do not forget about the differences in the interface and the different arrangement of menu items.
Have you understood yet? Let’s start by removing your Discord server by following the step-by-step instruction below:
- Open the Discord app on the screen.
- Select the first section with chats through the panel below and click on the icon of your Discord server.
- Tap three dots on the server name bar.
- A list will appear where you select “Settings.”
- Click the icon with three dots opposite the Server Settings heading.
- You will see an option “Delete Server.”
- After clicking on it, you will need to confirm the operation, having read that you cannot undo this action.
How Do I Delete A Server On A Desktop App?
On Windows and Mac, you can follow the same procedure to connect with the Discord desktop. After the confirmation, it means you delete your server from the app or website.
All server members will not be able to see or access it. They also eliminate all the shared messages.
You can’t reverse this process, so be completely certain you want to do this before confirming your choice. The process is straightforward for desktop users.
By deleting a Discord server desktop app, you will no longer receive pop-out notifications and do not see it in the list of conversations.
Removing your server is necessary when no one is using it. Remember that only the person who created the server or has permission to manage it can delete it.
So none of the existing roles, including the administrator, have such rights. If you are the creator of the server, follow these steps to uninstall it:
- Open the Discord app on the screen.
- Click on the server icon in the left pane, where you can find other groups and private messages.
- Click on the name of the server to open the control menu.
- Go to “Server Settings” and open the drop down menu.
- Lastly, click the Delete Server option.
- In the new window, enter your server’s name, confirm the deletion, and read the notice that you cannot cancel this operation.
- You will see a pop-out message requiring you to fill in your authentication code before deleting your server.
- Click on “Delete server,” and you will immediately clear all channels and other materials present in it.
How Do You Know If A Discord Server Has Been Deleted?
If you delete your server, there is likely no reason to find it when you search. If the server disappears but still appears in search results, you most likely can no longer access Discord.
The server goes out of the app and will disappear as you search for the site to find out what happened from there.
No server members are not notified of a deletion once it happens. Server users will not know the server when they access a Discord app or Search.
Get A New Discord Server After Deleting The Old One
You can easily make a new Discord Server and ask friends for their comments.
- Click “Add a Server“.
- Type your new server name
- Choose the “Create” button
- Copy your Discord server URL and send invites to friends.
You should note that you cannot use the email of a deleted account to make a new server. If you want to do that, you need to wait 14 days from when the old server disappeared.
Is There Any Way To Recover A Deleted Discord Server?
Users often ask if it is possible to restore a remote server to normal use. We note that the recovery of the Discord server is no longer possible.
Once you delete a server file from the backup, it’s not easy to locate it in an archived location and then retrieve the archive on another Discord server.
That is why the system issues a warning about the irreversibility of user actions. Before deleting, think again if you need it.
Therefore, we mentioned that only the administrator could give the order to delete the server but not anyone else.
In the future, Discord will likely have a grace period to recover the data. But those of you can’t implement that feature at the moment.
So you have specific instructions on how to delete a Discord server. It’s easy to do a few operations.
The problem is that Discord doesn’t allow you to restore deleted servers. Therefore, it is difficult for you to reach a consensus of all management members in deciding to delete the current server.
If you have questions, don’t hesitate to leave a comment. Thanks for reading!