Delete Old Windows 10 System Restore Points to Free Up Disk Space

Windows 10 has a handy feature called System Restore points that is useful for backing up your PC to a previous date. But it can hog up a lot of disk space if you don’t clean them up.

Windows 10 has a handy feature calledSystem Restore points that is useful for backing up your PC to a previous date. But it can hog up a lot of disk space if you don’t clean them up. Here are three ways you can get rid of old restore points and free up some precious drive space.

Delete Old Windows 10 System Restore Points

You can run thecommand line utility wsmprov to delete one or more system restore points. Type the command below, then press Enter:

wsmprov /deletecheckpoint C:

Type the command below, then pressEnter, to remove all of them:

wsmprov /deletecheckpoints 1

If you’d rather not use the command line, you can always click the Start button (or press the Windows key) then type Recovery into the search field. From the list, click Create arestore point. Select an older date and time and follow the wizard. Once created, right-click the “New” button in the top-right, then select Delete. Repeat as needed. This won’t remove all the points in one swoop, but it’s a much easier way to do it.

If you want freshclean Windows installed and you use a USB flash drive, there’s a way to boot to the flash drive and install your machine. Check out our tutorial here for details.

If you’re performing a fresh install, then you can also use the Refresh Your PC option in Settings to remove all your system files, apps, and settings. We already explained how you can refreshyour PC in a recent blog post, but here’s a rundown again. Go to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery and under Reset this PC click Get started. Follow the wizard to create a new user account. When you’re done with that, click the Advanced options link in the bottom right corner. Turn on the Remove everythingoption and then click Get started to begin the refresh process. This will delete all your files and restore a clean copy of Windows on your disk. Once done, you can log on with your previously existing account.

READ More:  Retailers to Offer Windows 7 Upgrade Discount

Dannie Jarrod

Leave a Comment